صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة

ماذا تعني؟

ETFs هو اختصار لصندوق المؤشرات المتداولة. تخيل أنك تريد شراء أسهم شركات مثل جوجل، وأبل، وأمازون وخمسين شركة تكنولوجيا كبرى أخرى دفعة واحدة كورقة مالية واحدة. يمكنك تحقيق ذلك من خلال شراء أدوات الاستثمار المعروفة باسم صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة. بصورة أساسية فإن صندوق المؤشرات المتداولة هو سلة من الأوراق المالية التي تهدف إلى محاكاة أداء مجموعة واسعة من الأسهم أو السندات من خلال ورقة مالية واحدة.

مؤشر S&P 500 الذي يقيس صحة سوق الأسهم الأمريكية من خلال تتبع أداء خمسمائة رأس مال ضخم من الأسهم الأمريكية هو مؤشر كبير تتبعه صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة، على غرار مؤشر أسعار الكويت.

عادة، يتم إنشاء صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة حول مؤشر السوق الحالي (للأسهم أو السندات أو فئة أصول أخرى)، مما يسمح لهم بالتركيز على مطابقة عائد هذا المؤشر من خلال الاحتفاظ بالأصول الواردة في المؤشر الأساسي. وببساطة، نظراً لأن الأسهم أو السندات التي تشكل مؤشراً هي عامة، فإن مديري الاستثمار (مثل فانغوارد، بلاكروك، وما إلى ذلك) يجعلون أمر الحصول على عائد السوق الكامل أقل تكلفة على المستثمرين من خلال تطوير صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة لمختلف المؤشرات والأسواق (الأسواق الأمريكية، والأسواق الناشئة، وما إلى ذلك). وبدلاً من شراء كل من الأسهم الخمسمائة المدرجة في مؤشر S&P 500 ستاندرد آند بورز 500، على سبيل المثال، يمكن للمستثمر شراء صندوق مؤشرات متداولة لمؤشر S&P 500 .

يتم تداول صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة في البورصات مثل أسهم أبل أو غيرها من الأسهم، وهذا يعني أنها طريقة سائلة وفعالة لزيادة تنويع المحفظة. ويمكن أن تأتي صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة بأشكال متنوعة، بما في ذلك الصناديق القائمة على الأصول (الأسهم والسندات)، والصناديق التي تركز على القطاعات (التكنولوجيا والطاقة، وما إلى ذلك) والصناديق التي تركز على جغرافيا المكان.

فيما تستخدم؟

لقد ارتفعت شعبية صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة بشكل كبير نتيجة سيولتها والاتجاه نحو الاستثمار الغير فعال الذي يسعى إلى مطابقة أداء مؤشر السوق بأقرب شكل من الأشكال بدلاً من التفوق عليه.

ويعزى هذا الاتجاه جزئياً إلى الصعوبات التي يواجهها مديرو الأموال النشطون في التفوق على مستوياتهم المعيارية في العقود الأخيرة. وبناء على ذلك، شهد السوق في السنوات الأخيرة زيادة في تخصيص أموال المستثمرين لصناديق المؤشرات المتداولة التي تركز على مطابقة مؤشرات السوق بدلاً من اختيار الأسهم بشكل فعال.

ويمكن للمستثمرين أيضاً الاستفادة من الرسوم الإدارية المنخفضة التي تفرضها الشركات الاستثمارية التي ترعى صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة بالمقارنة مع تلك التي تفرضها صناديق الاستثمار المشتركة المدارة بنشاط. ويعزى ذلك إلى القوى التنافسية، حيث تسعى الشركات الراعية لصناديق المؤشرات المتداولة إلى جذب أموال المستثمرين، وإلى عدم الحاجة إلى توظيف مديري المحافظ لاختيار الأسهم بنشاط.

ولكي يتفوق صندوق المؤشرات المتداولة على مؤشر ستاندرد آند بورز 500، فإن الصندوق الذي يدار بنشاط يجب ألا يكون أفضل من المؤشر فحسب، بل يجب عليه أيضاً أن يتفوق على المؤشر بفارق كبير يكفي لتعويض الرسوم الإدارية المرتفعة المرتبطة بالصندوق المدار بنشاط. وقد أدت الصعوبات التي تواجهها الصناديق المدارة بنشاط في تحويل مثل هذا الأداء على أساس ثابت، فعندما تؤخذ رسوم الإدارة في الاعتبار، ذلك جعل قدرة صناديق المؤشرات المتداولة على توفير عائدات توازي بشكل قريب مؤشرات السوق تجذب المستثمرين بشكل متزايد في السنوات الأخيرة.

اعتبارات أخرى

في حين يمكن للمستثمرين الاستفادة من انخفاض التكاليف وعوائد السوق المطابقة لصناديق المؤشرات المتداولة، لكن لأن هذه الصناديق تدار بشكل سلبي فإنها لا توفر للمستثمرين فرصة للتفوق على مؤشر السوق التي تقوم عليه. وبالتالي، إذا كان مؤشر السوق أداءه ضعيف على مدى فترة معينة من الزمن، بالتالي سيكون أداء صندوق المؤشرات المتداولة المعتمد على هذا المؤشر ضعيفاً.

وهذا يتناقض مع الصناديق المدارة بنشاط، والتي تنطوي على إمكانيات تفوق مؤشرات السوق. ومع ذلك، ونظرا للصعوبة التي ينطوي عليها الضرب المستمر للسوق مع مرور الوقت، فإن إيجاد مدير نشط يمكنه تقديم هذا النوع من أداء الضرب على السوق خلال فترة زمنية طويلة قد يكون صعبا، مما يساعد على تفسير ارتفاع الاستثمار السلبي في السنوات الأخيرة.

Exchange Traded Fund

What Is It?

ETF stands for exchange traded fund. Imagine you want to buy the stocks of companies like Google, Apple, Amazon and another 50 major technology companies in one go as a single security. You can achieve that through purchasing investment instruments known as ETFs. Essentially, and ETF is a basket of securities that aims to mimic the performance of a wide range of stocks or bonds through a single security.

A major market index that is tracked by ETFs is the S&P 500, which measures the health of the U.S. stock market by tracking the performance of 500 large capitalization U.S. stocks, similar to the purpose of the Kuwait Price Index.

Typically, ETFs are constructed around an existing market index (for stocks, bonds, or another asset class), which allows them to focus on matching that index’s return by holding the assets contained in the underlying index. Simply put, because the stocks or bonds making up an index are public, investment managers (such as Vanguard, Blackrock, etc.) make it more affordable for investors to capture the full market return by developing ETFs for different indices and markets (U.S. markets, emerging markets, etc.). Instead of buying each of the 500 stocks included in the S&P 500, for example, an investor can by an S&P 500 ETF.

ETFs are traded on stock exchanges just like the shares of Apple or other stocks are, meaning that they area liquid and efficient means of further diversifying a portfolio. ETFs can come in a variety of forms, including asset class based funds (stocks, bonds), sector focused funds (technology, energy, etc.) and geographically focused funds.

What Is It Used for?

The popularity of ETFs has risen dramatically as a result of their liquidity and the trend towards passive investing, which seeks to match as closely as possible the performance of a market index rather than to outperform it.

This trend is partly driven by the difficulty active money managers have experienced in outperforming their benchmarks in recent decades. Accordingly, in recent years the market has witnessed increasing allocation of investor funds to ETFs that focus on mirroring market indexes rather than actively picking stocks.

Investors can also benefit from the low management fees charged by the investment companies which sponsor ETFs in comparison with those charged by actively managed mutual funds. This is due both to competitive forces, as ETF sponsors seek to attract investor funds, and to the lack of a need to hire portfolio managers to actively pick stocks.

To outperform an ETF based on the S&P 500, an actively managed fund must not only do better than the index, it must also outperform the index by a large enough margin to make up for the higher management fees associated with being an actively managed fund. The difficulty actively managed funds have experienced in turning in such performance on a consistent basis, when management fees are taken into account, has made the ability of ETFs to provide returns closely paralleling market indexes increasingly attractive to investors in recent years.

Other Considerations

While investors can benefit from the low costs and market return matching aspects of ETFs, because these funds are passively managed they do not offer investors the opportunity to outperform the market index they are based on. Thus, if the market index performs poorly over a certain period of time, so will the ETF based on that index.

This contrasts with actively managed funds, which have the potential of outperforming market indexes. However, given the difficulty involved in consistently beating the market over time, finding an active manager who can provide this type of market-beating performance over a significant period of time can be difficult, which helps explain the rise of passive investing in recent years.