الأصول المدارة

ماذا تعني؟

الأصول المدارة هي الأصول التي يديرها مدير أموال، مثل صندوق الاستثمار المشترك أو مدير الاستثمار في صندوق الاستثمار المدرج للتداول، مطروحاً منه أية التزامات مرتبطة بالأصول. وفي العادة، يشير مصطلح الأصول المدارة إلى الأصول التي يديرها مدير الأموال لأغراض الاستثمار وليس إلى الودائع المصرفية والحسابات النقدية الأخرى المحتفظ بها لدى شركة مالية.

على سبيل المثال، قد يكون لصندوق استثمار مشترك مبلغ 150 مليون دولار أصول في الصندوق، مع 5 ملايين دولار من الالتزامات، مما يجعل إجمالي الأصول المدارة 145 مليون دولار. ومثال آخر، إذا كان لدى مدير الأموال عشرة عملاء وكل منهم قد ساهم بمبلغ عشرة ملايين دولار كأصول، مما يجعل إجمالي الأصول المدارة مئة مليون دولار بالنسبة لمدير الأموال.

فيما تستخدم؟

عادة ما تكون الأصول المدارة هي الرقم الرئيسي المستخدم في تقييم مديري الأصول: بصفة عامة، يرتبط وجود الأصول المدارة الكبيرة بمديري الأصول الذين يستطيعون العمل بنجاح على نطاق واسع. إن تحليل الأصول المدارة أمر مهم من وجهة نظر رسوم التي يفرضها مدير أصول الصندوق.

في كثير من الأحيان تفرض الصناديق رسوم على المستثمرين تمثل نسبة ثابتة من الأصول المدارة. وعموماً يفرض مديرو الأصول ذوي الأصول المدارة الأصغر رسوم أعلى كنسبة مئوية من استثمار المستثمر من أولئك الذين يمتلكون أصول مدارة أكبر. فقاعدة أصولهم الكبيرة تجعل من السهل على مديري الأصول ذوي الأصول المدارة الكبيرة تحصيل رسوم أقل.

كما يتم استخدام تقييم الأصول المدارة كوسيلة للحصول على نظرة ثاقبة على نجاح الصندوق وتاريخه. وعلى الرغم من أن الحال ليس هكذا دائماً، فإن الصناديق ذات الأصول المدارة الصغيرة قد تكون من الداخلين الجدد إلى السوق، أو قد لا تكون حققت أداءً جيداً بما يكفي لجذب أصول كبيرة.

اعتبارات أخرى

إن الأصول المدارة هي مجرد عامل واحد يمكن استخدامه في تحليل الأموال. ويمكن للنظر في العوامل أخرى المساعدة على توفير نظرة ثاقبة على الصندوق. علی سبیل المثال، قد یکون لدى الصندوق الذي یحتوي علی أداء ممتاز أصول مدارة منخفضة حیث أنه یستند إلی قطاع لا یملك سوى عدد صغیر من الأوراق المالیة للاستثمار فیها. في مثل ھذه الحالة، لا تشیر الأصول المدارة المنخفضة بالضرورة إلی أن الصندوق جدید أو أن الأداء لم يكن جيداً.

وتجدر الإشارة أيضاً إلى أن الصناديق ذات الأصول المدارة المنخفضة لا تحتوي بالضرورة على نسب رسوم أعلى من الصناديق ذات الأصول المدارة الكبيرة. وفي بعض الحالات، ستقوم شركات الإدارة الراعية لصندوق بتعيين رسوم منخفضة على الصندوق لجذب المستثمرين.

Assets Under Management

What Is It?

Assets under management (AUM) refers to the value of the assets managed by a money manager such as a mutual fund investment manager or asset manager. Total AUM is calculated by adding up the amount of stocks and bonds under the investment manager’s control and subtracting liabilities related to those assets. Typically, AUM refers only to assets being managed for investment purposes by a money manager, and not to bank deposits and other cash accounts not currently being managed by a financial firm.

A mutual fund, for example, may have $150 million in assets in a fund, with $5 million in liabilities, giving the fund a total AUM of $145 million. Another example would be if a money manager had 10 clients each of which contributed $10 million in assets, adding up to a total AUM of $100 million for the money manager.

What Is It Used for?

AUM is typically the headline number used in assessing asset managers: generally speaking, having a large AUM is associated with asset managers who are successfully able to operate at scale. Analyzing assets under management is important from the perspective of the expenses a fund’s asset manager charges.

Funds often charge investors expenses representing a fixed percentage of AUM. Asset managers with smaller AUMs will generally charge higher expenses as a percentage of an investor’s investment than those with larger AUMs. Their greater asset base makes it easier for high AUM asset managers to charge lower expenses.

Evaluating AUM is also used as a method of gaining insight into a fund’s success and history. Although this is not always the case, funds with low AUM may be new entrants to the field, or may not have performed well enough attract significant assets.

Other Considerations

AUM is just one factor that can be used in analyzing funds. Considering other factors can help provide insight into a fund. For instance, a fund with excellent performance might have a low AUM because it is based on a sector that has only a small number of securities to invest in. In such a case, a low AUM does not necessarily indicate that a fund is new or that it’s performance has not been good.

It should also be noted that funds with low AUMs do not necessarily have higher expense ratios than larger funds. In some cases, the management companies sponsoring a fund will set the fund fees low to attract investors.